## **MCAHN** Youth Scholarship Exceeds Half-Million Dollars Awarded

"To Date \$511,000 Granted as Covid-19 Conditions Generate Increased Submissions and Additional Recipients"



Photo: 2020 Mechanical Contractors Association Hamilton Niagara Scholarship Awards Recipients

(December 3, 2020 SOUTHERN ONTARIO) – On behalf of the Mechanical Contractors Association Hamilton Niagara (MCAHN) and our local construction employer members, a significant benchmark is achieved this year through our 26<sup>th</sup> Annual Scholarship Awards.

This legacy program invests in youth leadership by way of employer member contributions which fund up to twenty \$1,000 scholarships to exceptional students, who are children of salaried employees of MCAHN contractor member companies. Pandemic conditions introduced a substantial increase in deserving scholarship submissions, candidates that exceeded the scholarship criteria which could not be overlooked. As a result, five additional "one -time" \$1,000 scholarships were awarded. Annual scholarship gifts also include the MCAHN McMaster University Student Chapter \$1,000 Scholarship managed by Dr. Stephen Veldhuis, Associate Professor and Director McMaster Manufacturing Research Institute, of the

Department of Mechanical Engineering and the 2<sup>nd</sup> Annual Women in Mechanical Construction \$1,000 Scholarship sponsored by MCAHN <u>www.wimc.ca</u> in which both awards introduced a tie between two lucky recipients.

Student scholarship recipients are over achievers by nature and ethics, embrace goodwill through their volunteer pursuits as we recognize their

leadership ambitions. As young global Canadians, many are entering or currently enrolled in universities or colleges across the world. The selection criteria includes young applicants who maintained an exceptional grade average, established an outstanding commitment to their community through leadership, volunteerism, overcoming obstacles, and demonstrated interest in the mechanical contracting industry or their chosen field of study



"Since 1995, our scholarship education investment has been geared to support outstanding post-secondary students who continue to generate a substantial interest within our southern Ontario unionized construction employer network serving southern Ontario. As employers we adhere to a Standard of Excellence. Our scholarships are guided by similar principals, to establish a platform to recognize the performance excellence of our next generation of young professionals." Greg Crawford - E.S. Fox Ltd./MCAHN President

This year's Scholarship Selection Committee involved Past Presidents, MCAHN Board of Directors and member volunteers, Greg Crawford – MCAHN President, Anthony DeChellis - Immediate Past President, Kyle Heywood – Contractor/Education Committee Member, and Past Presidents - Bill Patterson and Paul Shewfelt. A discreet numbered judging criteria is established, where each panelist independently submits their selections, without knowing the choices made by other committee members.

Since the program's inception in 1995, managed by the MCAHN Education Committee, contractor employer remittance dues have funded over \$511,000.00 in awarded scholarships to Southern Ontario students. Congratulations to this year's recipients!

2020 Scholarship Recipient	College or University	MCAHN Member Company
Justina Ibrahim	Massachusetts College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences	Matrix NAC Ltd. Burlington
Victoria Robinson	Niagara College	E.S. Fox Limited
Thomas MacDonald	University of Guelph	Black & McDonald
Shelby Wilson	Brock University	E.S. Fox Limited
Rachel DeGasperis	University of Toronto	E.S. Fox Limited
Manuel Lemos	McMaster University	Hoffer Mechanical
Aiden Brokenshire	McGill University	Alberici Constructors
Bryan Marr	University of Ottawa	E.S. Fox Limited
Jacob Pellizzari	University of Toronto	Western Plumbing & Heating
Sierra Pellizzari	Western University	Western Plumbing & Heating
Jayden Fernandes	Mohawk College	Black & McDonald
Allyson Jugloff	Brock University	Black & McDonald
Taylor Campbell	Wilfrid University	Aecon Industrial Construction Services (AICS)
Lucas D'Innocenzo	Brock University	E.S. Fox Limited
Anthony Palmieri	University of Waterloo	E.S. Fox Limited
Arrah Patel	Western University	E.S. Fox Limited
Benjamin Piticaru	University of Waterloo	Alltrade Industrial Contractors
Gavin Myhal	Wilfrid University	Aecon Industrial Construction Services (AICS)
Noelle Mirabella	Brock University	Regional Mechanical Niagara
Cayla Mirabella	Western / Fanshawe	Regional Mechanical Niagara
Claudia Piticaru	Conestoga College	Alltrade Industrial Contractors
Alyssa Gauthier	University of Windsor	Alberici Constructors
Antonio DeChellis	Western University	E.S. Fox Limited
Evan Rees	St. Thomas University	Modern Niagara
Taylor Rees	Niagara College	Modern Niagara
Kailey Zeran	McMaster University	MCAHN / McMaster University Student Chapter
Nathan D'Hoine	McMaster University	MCAHN / McMaster University Student Chapter
Maddison Button	Memorial University	WIMC
Mina Ariara	British Columbia Institute of Technology	WIMC

For more information, high-resolution artwork and interviews contact: Wanda Heimbecker, Association Manager Mechanical Contractors Association Hamilton Niagara 370 York Blvd, Suite 105 Hamilton, ON Canada L8R 3L1 Tel: 905.522.1965 Fax: 905.522.2608

E: manager@mcahamiltonniagara.org www.mcahamiltonniagara.org "Proud to serve Hamilton, Niagara, Halton, Brant, Haldimand and Norfolk Counties"